Finished with a PR! 

To start out let me just say today was quite the day!! Woke up at 5 am to a chilly 50 degrees of rain and wind. Got down to Raley Field about 6:30 and met up with all our runnin’ for Rhett friends. As I stood in the upper deck of the stadium and looked out over the field watching the wind and rain swirl around like tornado(slightly exaggerated, but seriously) I thought are we all crazy!!! Then as my pace group team gathered and made it down to the start, I knew I could do this and was ready to go. First few miles were brutal with the wind and rain pouring down like buckets, but to see and feel all the enthusiasm and excitement was enough to push through. I fell back a bit from my pace group but I was determined to hit my goal. 

I remember as I ran through the half way mark, I told myself half way there. Coming up on about mile 10 I was hurting. I looked down at my watch and I knew once I hit the 2 hour mark, that I needed to give it my all. Passing the 12 mile marker was bitter sweet. They had shot us out in the open with the wind pounding against us. But before I knew it I was crossing the finish line, with some of my favorite people there to cheer me in. What was my final time you’re asking? A beautiful 2 hours and 9 minutes! I did it and I could not be more proud of myself and everyone who made the effort and dedication to be out there! Time to celebrate!!! 

Leave a Reply

